Edinburgh Days 1-3: Dogs & Other Happenings

Hello everyone and welcome back to my blog!

Recently, as you all know, I went to Australia and New Zealand with my family for 2 weeks to places like Gold Coast, Auckland, Wellington, and other travel destinations. We had a blast and I miss it already with its wonderful food, the lovable abundance of dogs to pet, and meraculous landscapes. However, I am now off on another adventure with EF College Break that takes college or just past college students from ages 18-28 on wonderful adventures overseas.

I started off my day leaving from Tri-Cities airport, flew to Atlanta, then had to run to my gate in Amsterdam due to a delay at Atlanta, finally arriving in Edinburgh, only with one problem… My suitcase wasn’t on the belt anywhere! Needless to say, I was worried. I asked the help desk to send my suitcase to our hostel and gave them my phone number in case they found it. I assumed that it just didn’t make it on my Amsterdam flight due to our quick turn around and my delay overall. I met up with the rest of my group in the hot outdoors, and headed to our hostel via bus. We arrived and had free time until our mixers and dinner that evening. Having worn the same makeup and clothes all day, I wasn’t excited about my suitcase being missing. However, I wasn’t the only one missing their belongings, so I felt slightly comforted. We walked around a Beer Festival with live music and plenty of dogs to pet. I met a wonderful little mop of a dog named Rosy, I forgot to ask the breed, I do apologize. I also do not have photos of these dogs as that would hold up the group as a whole. She was so soft, gave me a quick kiss as we left. We then went to our mixers where I had some delicious wine, along with a wonderful pizza (veggies no cheese) and proceeded to have some lemon sorbet as dessert.

Day 1 was a tiring success.

Day 2: We woke up early, had breakfast at 8, and headed off on a walking tour of the town while Tim, our lovely Scottish tour guide (complete with kilt), toured us around closes, told stories of the town, and told us some witty jokes.  Closes are the back alleys of Scotland where the worst slums weren’t equipped with the latest in hygiene, everything just running through the streets due to gravity and rain. He told us a story about Half-Hanged Maggie the fishwife who came back to life, a carpenter named Deacon Brodie who would copy the rich’s keys and steal from their homes, and also Buddy, the most loyal dog Scotland ever saw. There was a statue of him, and believe me, I definitely booped the snoot. We also went to see Edinburgh Castle and heard the Leonardo DiCaprio had visited in the last year and asked some wonderful questions. I also went on a Harry Potter tour complete with the Elephant House Cafe where J.K. Rowling wrote the 2nd and 3rd Harry Potter books. We also visited Spoon, formerly called Nicolson’s Cafe, the inspiration for Lord Voldemort, Hogwarts, and its 4 houses. I got sorted into Slytherin and clarified that the Spoon, not the Elephant, was the “birthplace” of Harry Potter. After the Harry Potter tour, some of us took a long nap before going out for a quick drink with the group. We went to an Ozzie bar, an Irish bar, and our hostel bar.

Day 3: This morning I woke up at 4 am and couldn’t go back to sleep. As we headed down for breakfast, we realized how many people were in line. Only having a few minutes to eat, I packed an apple because snacks are always necessary on exploring trips. We headed up to see Stirling Castle, rode around the countryside, and took a small hike in the Highlands. There I met another dog named Holly who was a black lab that loved for me to throw her tennis ball far out into the water. We stopped at the Scottish Wool Center for some food, shopping, and to see the different kinds of sheep, We also watched Swift, the beautiful girl Border Collie, herd some ducks through different obstacles. Then we headed back on the bus, took a wee hike, chilled on the beach for a minute, and headed back to downtown busy Edinburgh. We are now relaxing and getting ready to leave early tomorrow morning for our 3 and 1/2 hour bus ride to York for one night, then 3 days in London. I am having so much fun, have made a lots of new friends, and have pet as many dogs as I can.

More updates coming soon! Please feel free to message me with any further questions about my trip. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

